Effingham!

03Mar11

It has been a long time since I’ve written on here, no?  Yes.  It has.  And because it’s spring-ish now, and because I’ve started listening to music in the car again and singing nonstop, and since it appears that my luck, and my life, are changing right now (they weren’t all that bad before; just a little midwinter blues), well, here I am!

I’ve been enjoying, like, the last two days.  We read a poem in College Lit called “Poppies,” by Mary Oliver — it’s here — and that alone was good.  Then my students, who are very mature and not at all like five-year-olds ever, changed the title to “Poopies,” and giggled, giggled, giggled their way through the poem, interpreting it with a decidedly scatalogical bent.  I shamed them and told them they’d ruined my day and this beautiful poem, then proceeded to giggle with them.  I was not able to read the poem aloud to them, what with all the giggling.  I have to try again today with the third class, and I hope they have not heard the “Poopies” story, but it’s lodged in my mind, so there’ s little I can do to avert certain crisis there.  “Certain crisis” apparently equals me giggling through the reading of a poem.

CRISIS!

I’m doing the world’s worst job of teaching Science Fiction right now, so we’ll not discuss it.

In general, I’m learning what is and is not appropriate to say in class, after four years.  Things that are not appropriate include:

  • “This poem says, ‘Sadness?  UP YOURS!'”
  • “Oh yeah?  Well, I was the president of the band AND on the homecoming court, so suck it!”
  • “Yeah, he spends the entire movie walking around in this dirty white t-shirt…and that’s all I’m gonna say about that.”
  • Any “your face” jokes are really not appropriate, even if they don’t make any sense.
  • Also, substituting “I am not going to make a ‘your face’ joke right now” for a “your face” joke is really not any better than actually making the “your face” joke.


Update: The third College Lit class had, indeed, heard about “Poopies,” but were kind enough not to let me know until I’d successfully read the poem aloud to the class.  Whew.

That’s it for today, friends.

 


No Responses Yet to “Effingham!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

