You wanna know what’s on my birthday playlist?!

28Jan10

Of course you do.

  1. “You Can’t Hurry Love” –The Supremes
  2. “December 1963 (Oh, What a Night!)” –Yannick Noah
  3. “Rudie Can’t Fail” –The Clash
  4. “Butterfly” –Mason Jennings
  5. “Getting Better” –The Beatles
  6. “Yellow” –Coldplay
  7. “Ain’t Too Proud to Beg” –The Temptations
  8. “Honey, Just Allow Me One More Chance” –Bob Dylan
  9. “Fired” –Ben Folds
  10. “Ghetto Bastard” –Naughty By Nature
  11. “The Obvious Child” –Paul Simon
  12. “Early Birdie” –Owl City
  13. “Baby Be Mine” –Michael Jackson
  14. “Can’t Buy Me Love” –The Beatles
  15. “Greek Song” –Rufus Wainwright
  16. “Soul Man” –Sam & Dave
  17. “Cecilia” –Simon and Garfunkel
  18. “I’ll Take You There” –The Staple Singers
  19. “Refugee” –U2
  20. “Stay (Just a Little Bit Longer)” –The Chantels
  21. “The Card Cheat” –The Clash
  22. Some song I don’t know the title of by the Mama Digdowns
  23. “Dancing in the Dark” by Bruce Springsteen

This is basically the best birthday mix I’ve ever seen.  Thanks, me!  What a great present!  I will listen to it on the way to school tomorrow!  And also during plan period!  And possibly on headphones while my students do Socratic Circles.  Is that rude?

I kind of love the Friday/Saturday birthday double-punch combo.  See, I get them both.  I CLAIM them both.  These days, these days, I turn 31.  31 is prime.  I hate 2010, but I may love 31, so…they’re going to have to fight it out.  No hair-pulling, boys.

One Response to “You wanna know what’s on my birthday playlist?!”

  1. 1 Mavina

    What is unfortunate about your playlist is that I cannot hear it also. I am so hung on Rufus right now it is quite rediculous and silly. I feel I must branch out for some odd need not to seem autistic or narrow in my taste for what appeals to me…but the thought of rocking back and forth to the one fab album of his with these incredible headphones that B. was kind enough to lend me, seems like a great idea. I’m glad to be reminded that there are other musicians out there though.


Leave a Reply

