“Daddy’s World”

09Jan10

I just read a short story with the above title, by Walter Jon Williams (I’ve never read anything by him before, I don’t think).  It’s in this big book of SF short stories, and one of the kids I teach has lent it to me for about three months now.  I’m finally getting around to it.  Uff-da, Jen’s total lack of reading.  Anyway, it’s about a kid who dies and his parents program his memories and such into a computer and he lives as a computer simulation.   The story sort of centers on his relationship with his sister; once he finds out what he is, he can’t handle the limits of his virtual world, and she can’t handle the limits of her control over her own real world.  The sister, of course, turns out better, because we all know that it’s better to live in a real fucked up world than in a fake perfect world.

I liked it, even though it’s predictable, I guess.  It’s set up in a way that makes you feel the way both of them are feeling.  I think that’s one of the things about SF that people don’t get: the best SF, just like the best of any sort of literature, makes you really feel.

I ❤ reading.

4 Responses to ““Daddy’s World””

  1. 1 Jack's Johnson

    Sounds like Astro Boy to me. A bit. Sort of, for like ten seconds.

  2. 2 J

    Hmm. I haven’t seen it, but from the plot synopsis (so helpful)…for ten seconds, yes. The two together make an interesting story, anyway. “Daddy’s World” appears to have a better ending, though.

  3. 3 Jack's Johnson

    Well… Astro Boy or astroboy or wve, is actually a cartoon and comic that’s huge in Japan, Like MIckley Mouse is in USA. I don’t know about a movie tough.

  4. 4 J

    I did see that, yeah.


Leave a Reply

