Reflection: Walking on Water

26Jun09

Nonfiction!  Hooray!

Walking on Water: Reading, Writing, and Revolution by Derrick Jensen

I’m pretty inspired by this book, if only to rethink whether I’m really “loving my students into becoming who they are.” I mean, I do well with the responsibility part of teaching that Jensen refers to toward the end of the book, but the freedom part? Maybe not so much. Really rethinking how I can find an approach that works for me and the people I teach/work with towards the same ends is where I am right now. At any rate, some of this book bummed me out because Jensen is right–his male privilege really does make his teaching approach more plausible for men folk than for women folk. I’d liked to have seen a bit more of that privilege analysis going on, but I guess that wasn’t the point of the book…

No Responses Yet to “Reflection: Walking on Water”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

