Reflection: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

26Jun09

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

I reread this a couple of months ago while my students and a friend of mine were reading it for the first time. The friend found it messy–I think in a bad way, as in, “PKD didn’t know how to control this novel,” whereas I found it messy in a good way, as in, “PKD is not going to beat us over the head with what this all means, because it’s more important that it IS than that it MEANS.” That sounds pretentious, I guess, but what I’m trying to say is that I like that all the book’s ideas sort of have a tea party in my brain–but a rowdy one. None of them will behave long enough for me to have a decent conversation with them.

No Responses Yet to “Reflection: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

