Reflection: A Bunch of Books

26Jun09

The reviews get even shorter, and I grow less committed to posting them here as they’re quite old now, but I’ve come this far and dammit, I’m no quitter.

Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut

Contains the single best rationale for postmodern fiction I’ve ever read. [Obviously, you’ve heard this one before from me, and with far more clarity.  And words.]

The Rainbow by D.H. Lawrence

Totally unenjoyable…but worth it!

Galactic Pot-Healer by Philip K. Dick

I just reread this. I love Willis! And the last line of the book is the best last line of a book I think I’ve ever read. Our pots are ALL awful! Hooray!

Fight Club: A Novel by Chuck Palahniuk

Wow, I had no idea that it was WOMEN’S fault that men feel so entrapped by the society that THEY created! Thanks for clearing that one up, deck.

A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving

Yeah, this was good. It’s hard not to love Owen Meany. I passed the book along to my folks.

No Responses Yet to “Reflection: A Bunch of Books”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

