Book Reflections: Allison, Freire, and Shakespeare

26Jun09

I know, an odd trio, but…these are the last three old ones, and then you’re not getting anything until I finish For Whom the Bell Tolls, which I’ve just begun.

Bastard Out of Carolina by Dorothy Allison

The ending of this book both makes it almost unbearable to read–because it’s beyond tough–and salvages the book–by making real the direness of the situation the character is in, and by solidifying the complexity of the characters. Wow. [This is my best Serious Reviewer Voice, I suppose, what with all the Weight of Authority and such.  I like what I said–and agree with it!–but not how I’m saying it here.]

Pedagogy of the Oppressed by Paulo Freire

Changed me as a teacher, a thinker, a human.

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

Reading this for the fiftieth time with 9th graders was at times painful, but at least *I* like this play more than I did at the beginning of the unit! [This one is from last year–you know, my first year teaching at my current high school.  This year wasn’t less painful, but was sometimes more fun, and I think…maybe not just for me?]

No Responses Yet to “Book Reflections: Allison, Freire, and Shakespeare”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

