Parents are a headache!

16Feb09

Literally!

No, just kidding.  I mean, I have a headache, and I just got done with parent-teacher conferences, but I do not, in fact, think that parents are a headache.  My conferences went well.  I like that.  I like it when that happens.

Woah!  So I let a student (a very sweet and innocuous little crack cookie-peddling freshman) talk me into buying Girl Scout cookies from her.  They’re DEFFerent!  For one thing, they’re smaller than I remembered (this happened with those Necco Thin Mint cookies too).  And more sugary.  And more crunchy.  I’m eating a Samoa.  Why are they called Samoas?  Tropical coconutty?  IKD.

Turns out our school is HAUNTED!  How rad is that?  Not rad, if you’re at school by yourself at night and you hear kids running up and down the hallway upstairs and smell popcorn popping in your room and hear laughter outside the copy room and YOU ARE THE ONLY ONE IN THE BUILDING.  Not my experience, as I would have fucking LOST it at that point, but a good precautionary tale from one of my fellow English fogies.

Some student said something about the English department consisting of a bunch of old biddies.  How right you are, whippersnapper!  Now go diagram my sentence before I put another checkmark behind your name on the board!  Also, fetch me a martini!

This is a very exuberant sort of post, now isn’t it?  Meanwhile, my headache is getting worse.  OH, AND, the school’s web filter thingy is blocking wordpress now so what, no more blogging during my plan period?  WTF?1/1/1/1/1/1/

There you go.  I’m going to go read something.  You be good now, kids.

No Responses Yet to “Parents are a headache!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

