Pales

03Apr08

Here’s what’s not important: I’m up at 11:00 on a school night, after a hard day and a short night of sleep last night.  I’ve got a ton of shit to do tomorrow, and I’ve got to be up at 5.  I can’t sleep for shaking.

Still not important, exactly: I just read the first half of Chapter 20 of Invisible Man.  I’m so shook I can’t even lie down, let alone sleep.  I’ve just been forced to realize that all the shit I think about, worry about, talk about, and do is totally unimportant.  I’ve used the word devastating too many times.  It shouldn’t be overused.  There are plenty of legitimate times to use it to describe what human beings do to one another.

What is important: What happened in the first half of Chapter 20 of Invisible Man happened.  And happens.  And keeps happening.   And we let it.  And we don’t see this, maybe, but we make it happen.

How am I going to prepare my students for this?

No Responses Yet to “Pales”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

